Guide to HTML5 Basics

So, as evident in my last post I’ve not been good about keeping this blog active. But, today I am finally pulling through with my promise and updating the blog! Something I never thought I’d really learn just because – well I am still a student and learning what it is to run social media accounts, websites and so on – was HTML. HTML5 if we’re being technical. A little background on the language is that it’s been around forever. The newest version as of a few years being well HTML5.

I utilize this language when using WordPress, which is the site that the company I intern at uses it for. It hosts it, and through it we use both Godaddy (hosting site), and also one pager editor which helps craft the pages with easy to use modules. One pager while helpful, doesn’t have ALL the customizations I’d wish for. You can’t change the slider speed, and there is no clear suggestions on how large or small to have a photo to fill a slider or just simply a bio section. So it’s a lot of trial and error.

But how do you adjust something as simple as a picture placement on a site, or even font size of some words that you can’t adjust in the settings area of the page builder? HTML5. It’s this coding mechanism thing that has the computer ‘read’ the code, and it then translates it into a visual format that ends up showing on your screen when you click on something.

So <font size=”5″> and </font> you would use to adjust the font. You need to put what you’d like ‘adjusted’ between the two opening and closing parts. Below is an example

<font size=”5″> Font </font>

Sadly the WordPress basic blog doesn’t recognize the code, which is what I host “Seducing the world one post at a time” on. So, this post isn’t super helpful seeing HTML5 in action.  I believe this is because WordPress is set up to where it is meant to be user friendly and not require any sort of HTML5 adjustment. If you know the reason please feel free to share so I can be correct.

But otherwise pretty simple stuff. I just use the basics really, nothing extreme. I intern for a software company where they work more with code then I do, and write a ton of it. I get about as technical as changing font size, color, adding ‘cushion’ to text boxes, adjusting the place where things appear, bolding things, so on. It’s a handy tool when creating websites, because really I haven’t found a 100% effective website tool that assists you when creating pages.

A few other helpful HTML5 codes I use are

<font color=”red”> </font>         <font color=”red”> Red </font color>

<b> </b>                <b> Bold </b>

<h1> </h1>            <h1> Heading </h1>

<h2> </h2>             <h2> Heading 2 </h2>

 

Leave a Reply

